I have a photo shoot scheduled next weekend to take some fun pin up girl styles images, for my husband of course!  And with only nine days between now and then, I started evaluating what I eat cause realistically, I can make some last minute physical changes, right? RIGHT?!  If my husband hopes to have any of these photos developed, we all better hope so for his sake.

Anyway, I thought I’d start with a cleanse since I have a serious sugar problem.  My thought process was if I only have explicit list of smoothies to eat, I should be able to follow it.   So I found a three day detox cleanse on where else, but Pinterest, printed it out and brought it to the grocery store with me yesterday morning.  I might have bought 1/4 of the ingredients needed.  Poop.  I’ve tried a smoothie detox diet in the recent past and knew I couldn’t swallow or rather chew another celery apple “drink”.  Well, where I was already failing at trying to make some changes in my diet and it wasn’t even 9am.  That was disappointing, but I thought to myself, try to do something more realistic.  OK.

I came home and made myself a protein smoothie.  A large handful of spinach. Half a banana.  One cup of unsweetened almond milk.  One scoop of vanilla flavored protein powder.  And half a cup of strawberries.  Super delicious.  Miraculously, I was able to avoid snacking on whatever sugary cereal I gave into buying at the grocery store earlier.  Twice I even put a piece in my mouth and took it out!  Usually, I’m eating whatever cereal was thrown on the floor (yes, the floor) or whatever my son has thrown across the table.  But not yesterday, which was a huge accomplishment.

As the day went on, I found that I was starving because naturally my brain was saying “eat cause you’re trying to be good,” which wasn’t helping my cause.  I thought I would try an oatmeal smoothie.  Oatmeal is very caloric and has protein so I hoped it would fill me up.  Mental note for those who try an oatmeal smoothie, chances are you will need to double the liquids needed so it is actually drinkable.  By dinner time, I‘m pretty sure I had a Fig Newton, or four, and I knew I had to sit and eat some real food.  I don’t like the idea of sitting down for dinner and not eating in front of my children.  I worry that I might send a bad message as I’m telling them “eat your dinner” without a plate in front of me and I don’t want to be a hypocrite.  Dinner was chicken sausage and grilled zucchini so at least it was healthy.

By night time, I wanted a treat, of course, and my husband busted out some greek yogurt and apple slices.  SUGAR! So I was happy again.  It was before bedtime that I realized, I should not have been so hard on myself all day.  Clearly this is going to be a challenge and some days are going to be easier to avoid the temptation, while other’s I’m bound to buy a box of cookies or pour myself a bowl of my kids cereal (which I’m sure everyone thinking, don’t feed them sugary cereal and I could not agree more.  that will be another post).

So today I made a decision to focus on the positive and be optimistic.  And hey, no cereal for me this morning.  Just good old scrambled eggs.  And I knew we would be out before heading to the gym so I brought a spinach/strawberry/banana/protein smoothie with me so I had healthy food intake before hitting the gym.  And while at my normal Friday morning class, the instructor who also happens to be my old personal trainer, made me switch my 15 lb. kettle bells with a woman who had 20 lbs. because she was new and they were clearly going to be too heavy for her.  The instructor had faith in my strength and that was so encouraging that I tried my hardest to never put them down.  But eventually my forearms gave out – maybe next time.

So all in all, it’s been a healthier mental day and I’ll take that!

