After Kettle Bell class yesterday, a fellow work out mommy approached me and said not only has she been reading my blog (hurray!) and she struggles with her diet as well.  So, I’m not the only one!  It’s always a relief when people are dealing with the same issues as you and are willing to share.

Needless to say, I was pretty shocked because she looks like she snacks on raw eggs Rocky style.  So much so, that I have been considering asking her about her diet to get some insight.  Nothing like asking a woman “Do you mind telling me what you eat?”  Anyway, we started talking about how some people know how to exercise and effective work out routines to follow but are lacking in the nutrition department, and vice versa.

As much as I seem to complain about diet here, I do KNOW what I SHOULD be eating even though I don’t always do it.  Therefore, I decided to share my typical day of food intake, sans all the sweets and scraps of food I’m stealing from my kids.

Breakfast: 1/2 cup of old fashion oatmeal with a splash of almond milk to cool it down and 1/4 cup of blueberries. Green tea.

Snack on the way to the gym: 2 hard boiled eggs.

Snack on the way home: greek yogurt container or a small apple.

Lunch: Usually dinner leftovers of chicken and steamed veggies.  Green tea.

Snack: 2 cups spinach, 1 cup strawberries, 1 cup unsweetened almond milk blended into a smoothie.

Dinner: grilled chicken breast & steamed veggies (broccoli, asparagus, green beans) or grilled chicken sausage with grilled peppers and onions.

My night time snack is supposed to be half a grapefruit, but I’ve been having 1/2 cup of vanilla greek yogurt with 1 tablespoon honey and 2 tablespoons of almond slivers.

Sometimes I do switch things around because my schedule is slightly different each day and I may or may not be hungry for one thing or another.  But all in all, I do my best to eat clean, unprocessed foods.

Unfortunately, I don’t weight train on my own but I do hope to get there one day.  Maybe when the weight room at the gym doesn’t feel so intimidating with the rows and rows of barbells or massive pieces of equipment or how do you adjust this bench?  That’s probably why I stick with my kettle bell class.  It’s an obvious set up.  Two kettle bells and watch the instructor.  Done.

I recently read the five best exercises a woman should do are: dead lifts, squats, lunges, pull-ups and dips.  So if you’re up for it, try to incorporate any of these things into your work out routine or simply into your day.  Grab a dining room chair for a set of dips.  During commercials jump off the couch and squat away until your show comes back on.  Remember proper form here.  Knees don’t go past your toes and sit your butt DOWN, not out!  Or instead of walking down the hallway, lunge down the hallway.  Again, no knees past your toes.  Maybe your kids will think you look silly and want to try too.

Reach out to those who can help you with the areas you are struggling in and always be willing to return the favor to those who seek your advice.

