According to Francis Bacon, knowledge is power.  But I have to be honest, right now knowledge is kinda scaring me, just a little bit.  

A while back I was searching through my local library’s online data base for a women’s health book to read.  I’ve always enjoyed reading so I thought since I enjoy working out so much, I would LOVE to read about being healthy.  I was right, I have been enjoying reading all my books but I’m not necessarily enjoying all that I am reading.  Make sense?  

The first book ready for pick up was “Chill Out & Get Healthy.”  From the cover, it’s contents were unexpected.  The author is trained in Chinese Medicine and she bases her book around the concepts such as your essence and Qi as well as how stress and a poor diet is are aging us too quickly.  Have you heard of prenatal essence?  Me either.    

I really appreciated what this book had to offer as it really honed in on how we should be more aware of our insides and listen to our body more.  Most of what the author talked about sounded like common sense but it never clicked for me until I started this book.  For example, if you’re bloated and gassy (admit it, it’s fine) it’s typically because you ate something that your body has a very hard time digesting.  Therefore, don’t eat it because it’s not necessarily good for you, sans the typical gas making veggies of course!

And this was also the first time I read about eating organic, an idea I’m starting to warm up to.  I always had reservations about it…too expensive, sounds a little too extreme for me and quiet honestly, who had time to seek out organic products.  But the obvious fact that organic produce is not grown with chemicals means you won’t be ingesting chemicals.  Peanut butter with apple coated chemical skin doesn’t sound so appetizing anymore.   

If you’re looking for a fun, easy and to the point book about being healthy, I highly recommend “Chill Out and Get Healthy.” I plan on purchasing a copy for my book shelf.     

Next. 

Did you know that Jessica Alba has her own plant based, no toxic, not tested on animals product line for baby and family?  Either did I until I read her book “The Honest Life.”  This was a wonderful read.  She covers all areas of family life and explains the many ways you can rid your home of all the gross things we seem to be washing our bodies with.  

One fact that has really stuck with me is that baby soaps have a numbing ingredient so our little people don’t feel the soap stinging their eyes.  Not only am I appalled, but I feel terrible that I’ve been washing my kids with such harsh and unsafe cleaners.  Now, I’ve decided not to go off the walls throwing everything out, but rather I will replace products as we finish them.  This gives me the opportunity to continue educating myself as well as not wasting money already spent.

I think this is a great book for all moms.  So if you are a mom, find it and read it!

Next.   

Last night I finished “Suicide by Sugar,” which I was excited to read because the author states she’ll tell you how to eliminate sugar from your diet.  Well, when it got to that chapter, or section rather, I was pretty disappointed.  She simply advises to start cutting back and then stop all together after a certain amount of time.  Why hadn’t I thought of that?!  The bulk of the book repeats how sugar is destroying our immune system, throwing our body’s homeostasis out of whack, disturbing the mineral balance within our bodies as well as the very obvious making us overweight.  

There was one section I did enjoy reading.  It was about how children are also being affected in all aspects of their lives by sugar – hyperactivity, overweight, poor behavior, inability to focus or pay attention in school as well as these little bodies have sugar dependencies.  And as a mother, I was really upset that I’m aiding in this unfortunate pathway for my own kids. 

On most days my daughter wakes up and asks for a treat and likes to finish her day off with some ice cream.  Of course I don’t give her a treat in the morning, even though I’m pretty sure her cereal could be considered one, and we are able to limit how much ice cream we give her, but sugar is obviously running their her body making her crave it even more.  

And despite my good efforts to buy unsweetened applesauce and bake goodies using honey and peanut butter instead of white sugar and butter, we still seem to consume too much sugar.  

Eliminating sugar from our diets is something I strive to work on but it’s difficult when you actually suffer from sugar withdrawal pains like any other addiction (that’s right you can have a  sugar addiction!).  Headaches, crankiness and of course, the unnatural urge to all sweets in sight.  Whoever said the wise adage “you want what you can’t have”? was right because every time I swear of sweets, I typically end up eating more than I usually do on a normal day.  

So what’s the answer?  

Right now I intend to keep reading as much as possible to gather information to make those important decisions in mine and my families lives.  Being healthy isn’t always about exercising those muscles (a key part not to forget though), but also making sure we treat our outsides and insides safely and smartly.  Go to the book store or better yet, the library and bring home a bunch of books.  Read during nap time or before bed because knowledge really is power.

